Doer or Dawdler. Which are you?

Overcoming UnderearningThis month I’m working my way through Barbara Stanny’s book “Overcoming Underearning”. She is the best-selling author of “Secrets of Six-Figure Women”.

Recognizing the fact that I am an under earner from my own definition of the phrase, when I ran across this book on Shop.ca, I knew it was a book I had to read.

I am barely into the book and so far, every time I turn the page, with each story and comment, this book sounds like the author is talking about me. How did she get in my head?  But, more than that – I’m getting answers to how to ‘overcome’ the attributes, thought processes and feelings that come with being an under earner. This is more than a book, it’s a workshop.

Among other things – apparently I’m a dawdler. I would never have guessed that I was a dawdler but I am. I’d love to give you an excerpt from the book, but I’m sure that would go against copyrights, so here’s my summary:

Doer: Makes a vow to change and changes. Dawdler: Vows to change but does nothing.
Doer: Does what they say they are going to do. Dawdler: Often fail to keep promises – mostly to themselves.
Doer: Incorporate earning knowledge in all aspects of life. Dawdler: Get distracted and derailed.
Doer: Engage the help of others. Dawdlers: Avoid conflict.
Doer: Put themselves first. Dawdlers: Spend more time doing for others than themselves.
Doer: Keep their plan in plain sight. Dawdler: Out of sight, out of mind.
Doer: Pay attention to thoughts and actions. Dawdlers: Justify, rationalize and make excuses.
Doer: Face fear. Dawdlers: Avoid the uncomfortable.

Looking at your New Year’s resolutions, your new business or marketing plan, the changes you would like to see happen this year. Are you are Doer? Or a Dawdler? I’d love to hear your answers and what you do to bring out the Doer in yourself.

This entry was posted in 4 Me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Doer or Dawdler. Which are you?

  1. Kali says:

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  2. cars says:

    There is no denying the fact that purchasing
    a car can be a nerve-wracking, stress-filled experience.
    Before you make a decision and spend a great amount of money on a vehicle,
    it pays to acquire a bit of knowledge on the subject.
    Keep the tips that follow close at hand, and you will have what
    it takes to make an optimal decision.

  3. Ok – so you have called me on it! I always think of myself as one of the hardest working women I know – but I spend an awful lot of time on things that 1. are not making me any money, and 2. are time wasters. My father always used to say better and idle fool than a busy fool – guess I know what he meant! Will buy the book today! Hope you get a commission Debi K!

    • Debi K says:

      I found reading this book so far has been like looking in the mirror. I just didn’t realize it. I hope you get as much out of it as I am. And, no – I don’t get a commission – if only!
      Deb.

We would love to hear what you think

